Organization of the Research Division

Research Development and Coordination

Scientific Services

Veterinary Science and Laboratories Department

Wildlife Populations and Habitat Dynamics Department

The Division is established in accordance with section 51 of the WCMA 2013 to be responsible for development, coordination and execution of wildlife research programs and policies. To effectively perform the above functions, the Division is organized into five (5) departments, namely:

  • Wildlife Populations and Habitats Dynamics: The Department is responsible for coordinating and undertaking research and monitoring of wildlife and their habitats in order to generate information needed to guide decision making and policy on wildlife conservation and management in Kenya.
  • Veterinary Science and Laboratories: The Department is responsible for coordinating and undertaking disease surveillance and veterinary research in order to safeguard wildlife, livestock and Public Health through prevention, early detection, identification and management of wildlife diseases. It will also be responsible for establishing and operating veterinary, forensic and genetics laboratories to facilitate disease surveillance and research and to employ genetics and forensic tools to enhance understanding of wildlife populations and prosecution of wildlife crimes.
  • Research Development and Coordination: The Department is responsible for provision of technical advice on intellectual property rights, bioprospecting research, advising on access and benefit sharing instruments, monitoring on utilization of genetic resources, and establishing and managing ex situ collections of wild flora and fauna among other.
  • Wildlife Resource Centre and Information Management: The Resource Centre is responsible for coordinating collection and collation of wildlife spatial data and information capture, its classification and qualification, its storage, processing, portrayal and dissemination, including establishing and maintaining the infrastructure necessary to secure optimal use of this information.
  • Scientific Services: The Department is responsible for providing an array of services that seek to address both the Institute’s, KWS and stakeholders’ needs geared towards the realization of the four (4) pillars of the National Wildlife Conservation Strategy 2030.

In addition, there are four (4) Field Centres under the Division established to address specific agro-climatic and ecological zones. These are:

  • Savanah, Arid and Semi-Arid Ecosystems Centre in Tsavo. It has sub-centres based in Maasai Mara, Meru, Nairobi, Amboseli, Nakuru, Ruma and Marsabit;
  • Coastal and Marine Ecosystems Centre in Malindi with a sub-centre in Shimba Hills National Reserve;
  • Montane/Forest Ecosystems Centre in King’ong’o (Nyeri) with sub-centres based in Kitale and Kakamega; and
  • Inland Waters and Wetlands Ecosystems Centre in Naivasha with a sub-centre in Kisumu.

Proceed Booking

Skip to content